PROCESSWEST Magazine Online

CAPL rebrands to become CALEP

Don Horne   

News CALEP CAPL landmen petroleum

A familiar 50-year-old association has rebranded, along with a fresh new logo.

The Canadian Association of Petroleum Landmen (CAPL) is now the Canadian Association of Land and Energy Professionals (CALEP), the third iteration of the association’s brand in 74 years.

The Alberta Landman’s Association was formed in 1948 at the Fairmont Palliser, keeping that name until 1970, when the association changed to become the Canadian Association of Petroleum Landmen (CAPL), with a new logo two years later in 1972.

In 1998, the association further revised the logo with a contemporary look focusing more on the Canadian aspect of the association.


The latest evolution of the name also comes with a revision to the logo, with the red maple leaf being symbolic of the organization being proudly Canadian.

“Canada is a global leader in ethical, sustainable, low carbon energy development from multiple sectors beyond simply petroleum. The grey text emphasizes a calm and neutral colour; akin to our land professionals who bring a balanced and valued business perspective while operating under a broader scope outside of the traditional energy sources,” reads a statement from CALEP. “It is also representative of surviving and thriving in shifting environments and diverse political regimes.

“We are proud of our history and will continue to honour that which was accomplished before,” continues the statement. “We will retain the CAPL trademark and our existing CAPL documents and procedures will remain under the CAPL name.”

Here is a list of the first and new Board of Directors of CALEP:

Shaun Williams – Past President – Independent
Janice Redmond – *acclaimed President – Action Land & Environmental Services Ltd.
Glenn Miller – *acclaimed Vice President – Miller Energy Consulting
Marah Graham – (2nd year) Finance – Tundra Oil and Gas
Sandra Dixon – *acclaimed Secretary/Professionalism – Enbridge
Gary Richardson – (2nd year) Community Engagement – Brittany Consulting
Dayna Morgan – (2nd year) Communications/Marketing – Britt Radius
Lorraine Grant – (2nd year) Professional Development – CNRL
Richard Forrester – (2nd year) Events – Surge Energy
Lindy Couillard – *acclaimed New Education – 360 ELM
Jasmine Lothian – *acclaimed Membership – BLG
Jason Gouw – *acclaimed FAM – LandSolutions
Geoff Thiessen – *acclaimed External Relations West/North – N7 Energy
Tom Templeton – *acclaimed External Relations Sask/East – Millennium Land


Stories continue below

Print this page

Related Stories